Why did Habanos delete so many 50 cabs?

Why has Habanos discontinued so many 50 cabs?  It seems like they are/were universally popular from what I've read.  They could probably charge more for that packaging style, too.  Since I'm new to the game, I don't know the history.  

Maybe at some point consumers started wanting fewer cigars per box.  But now, with the price increases, the Cuban cigar market seems to be heading more toward true luxury status.  A 50 cab seems like it would support that image for collectors at least.  Do you anticipate Cuba rolling out more 50 cabs?  Fewer?

Has any Cohiba, as the 'crown' of the Habanos profile, been offered in 50 cab packaging?

Some other good threads about 50 cabs here:

https://www.friendsofhabanos.com/forum/topic/144921-cigars-you-wish-came-in-50-cabs/

https://www.friendsofhabanos.com/forum/topic/125445-regular-production-cigars-in-50-cab-packaging/

The only 50 cabs I have ever bought were PLPCs and a SLR DC. I still have some of all of them, some more than others. 50 cigars is an awful lot, particularly in the large formats, if you like to rotate or switch things up between different cigars.

That being said I love the concept. If more were regularly available I would probably grab some. Not sure if they do over did make ERDM CS in a 50 cab (I want to say that they used to?), but that would be an example of one I would buy in bulk.

• Like 1

48 minutes ago, oneizzzz said:

Why has Habanos discontinued so many 50 cabs?

"Rationalization" If you look at CCW you'll see that its not only large counts, but small counts that have been removed over years. There used to be lots of options in 3s, 5s, 10s, 15s, Carboard, Tubo's, etc. Many of those other options have been culled at the same time 50 cabs have. 12/24, 10/20/25 seem to be the new standards, dress box or cab, but rarely either anymore. 

Some cigars like RASS and BRC still get several package options, but there are far fewer getting that treatment now. 

*sigh*