Why do we keep cigar bands?

I am relatively young in the cigar aficionado arena. From day one I noticed that is customary to keep your bands. What is the significance of keeping the bands of the cigars you smoke? Is it to have a history of the cigars you have smoked?

• Thanks 1

I think it’s personal preference. Some people save them to make a journal of the cigar they smoked along with a description. I save mine and put them in a clear jar because I think they are little works of art, I’m a printing press operator by trade, so I appreciate how beautiful they are and all the work that went into making them. I save all my empty boxes too. 

• Like 3

Habanos S.A. likes to put two or three bands on my cigars so why not. Jk. I have seen some cool man cave designs with a wet bar having cigar bands under glass as he bar top. Maybe one day, but not anytime soon. Until then, I collect in a mason jar and put that on top of my desktop humidor. 

4F43BAC2-E80C-4F65-8821-90CC590E0AC6.jpeg

• Like 2

I'm relatively new to smoking cigars, so I keep my bands in a journal where I document what I smoked, when I smoked it, where I smoked it and just a couple tasting notes.  It's been helpful to see how a cigar progresses  especially as I'm now completely obsessed with aging Cubans.

Some folks I know rip the band off before they even smoke the cigar which for me seems to diminish part of the fun.  Aside from wrapper and wrap quality, there are no identifying markers on these products, so to form strong associations with palette and brand, I feel like keeping the band on (until it's just about to burn off) is key for me at least.

• Like 1

I used to keep them.  Had thousands.  All unbroken.  Stopped about two or three years ago.  Threw all but just a few away.  Just got tired of keeping up with them, especially when away from my house to get them back home.