Advice - montecristo especial no 1

Hello everyone!

First and foremost I want to apologize if this thread is put on the wrong forum. This is my first post so hope you're patient with me :)

A few months ago I tried my first cigar. It was a quintero and I didn't like it very much. I guess that's because I was a total rookie + it was very fresh + it was stored in a overly humid environment. 

So I started sampling all cigars I could.. Mostly non Cubans. I enjoyed many but then I bought an aged montecristo especiales no1 from 2011 and WOW. It got me so hooked.. After that I started buying only CC cigars with some age. One of the best decisions I've made :D nothing gives me the same satisfaction.

So now I'm looking for a box of montecristo especiales no 1 but they are sold out everywhere. I've emailed every store and no one knows when they'll be getting them in Stock again.

Today I found a guy who have a box from 2001. He want to sell it for $750 is that a good price?

I worry that they are "too old" is that even possible? If someone have tried such an aged montecristo especial no 1 I would be very thankful for your thoughts about it :)

thanks!

No, there are people on this forum who have smoked 100+ year old cigars. As long as they have been stored properly, they will be fine. The price is what you are willing to pay. These cigars come up on 24:24. I would just wait until the FOH auctions comes up in the next month or thereabouts, or 24:24. I personally wouldn't pay that much, but I know some that might.

Also! Age isn't everything. I highly recommend you try 2017 and 2018 box code cigars. Try them fresh to see if they suit you. Might be surprised what you find. Venture out and try the other marcas too.

• Thanks 1

13 minutes ago, El Presidente said:

Welcome aboard. 

Very few Monte Especial were made throughout 2018, hence the drought.