Long-term Aging in Ziplock Bags

Tonight, I smoked a very interesting, and exceptionally delicious cigar:

A 2001 Partagas Corona from an original cab of 50. When I first got the cab, in 2004, I set aside 25 cigars to smoke, and put these into a cedar SLB. I placed the remaining 25 into another cedar SLB which in turn I sealed in a ziplock bag. Then stashed 'em down deep. Both boxes have been stored in the same humidor, under otherwise identical conditions.

I've been smoking the "unsealed" cigars now for several years. Originally, these were very good, very strong cigars. But by the time I had finished the "unsealed" cigars, they had lost most of their strength and much of their flavor. After all, I reasoned, they were ten years old.

When I finished the last of the "smoking" stash a few months ago, I dug down and found the ziplock-sealed box. Tonight, I smoked the first from this "sealed" SLB. The contrast was nothing less than stunning. The first example from the "sealed" SLB was still strong, robust and flavorful. It was also much sweeter than the last of its "unsealed" siblings.

Has anyone else had a similar experience?
  • Like 3

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Yorkshire nurse, in Emergency Service of Yorkshire hospital: What's your name and what happened, sir? Captain Q: My name is Captain Quintero and I smoked the inside paper of one of my aged box of f

Tonight, I smoked a very interesting, and exceptionally delicious cigar: A 2001 Partagas Corona from an original cab of 50. When I first got the cab, in 2004, I set aside 25 cigars to smoke, and put

I live at the beach in So Cal & balance humidity issues by storing my boxes in XL Ziplocs with boveda packs. I've been doing this for about 4 years without any issues. My stock smokes & ages j