Heating a Garage, looking for advice

I have a 3 car garage and I'd love to turn it into a smokable area.  It doesn't necessarily have to be a permanent fixture of the garage, but something that can heat a decent sized indoor area without taking forever to warm up would be ideal.  

I'd love to hear what some of you guys use, as I doubt im the first person to face this one.  Thanks in advance.  

• Like 1

Call your heating contractor and have them install a Modine Hot Dawg unit or a Reznor. This is a permanent unit. Should be 2-3 k.

If that not in the budget get a sunflower portable fish house heater. They make a 2 headed one that will heat up quickly.

3 rd choice would be a propane turbo unit. Don't get the kerosene one as they stink.

Im a HVAC contractor so let me know if you need any advise.

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, madandana said:

Call your heating contractor and have them install a Modine Hot Dawg unit or a Reznor. This is a permanent unit. Should be 2-3 k.

If that not in the budget get a sunflower portable fish house heater. They make a 2 headed one that will heat up quickly.

3 rd choice would be a propane turbo unit. Don't get the kerosene one as they stink.

Im a HVAC contractor so let me know if you need any advise.

Super useful advice.  Thanks for the tips.  Now to decide how much to invest...

To heat up a 3 car garage just for a smoke is expensive both in terms of the mechanical equipment you'll need and the amount of energy it will take.

Besides the fact that you'll need to get it going in advance.

I bought this little portable ceramic heater that throws off a lot of btu for the money.  With the fan pointing in your direction - you'll stay remarkably warm during the course of your smoke in a 42 degree unheated garage: https://www.homedepot.com/p/Dr-Infrared-Heater-Original-1500-Watt-Infrared-Portable-Space-Heater-with-Dual-Heating-System-DR968/205625429