The closest ?

I have been on the forum for a few days and reading old post and I have not seen a thread on what Nc stick you think has the most Cuban qualities

For me its a Herrera Esteli but I am still very new to Habanos

Eric

There are many great non cuban cigars. But the only cigar that tastes like a cuban is a genuine cuban cigar. The aroma and unique flavor has not been replicated in any other tobacco growing country. So enjoy both types of cigars for what they are. In the non cuban category I enjoy mostly Padron Anniversaries and Arturo Fuente sungrowns. They each have their own distinctive tastes.

None

It's kind of like asking "Which Catfish eggs are most like Ocetra Caviar?"

Padron 1926? My buddy let me one and it was good but not a Cuban. I'm not well versed but Had A Undercrown that was good Oliva O/V were good as well but like I said I haven't smoked enough NCs. Those tho have been good and enjoyable

The paradox is this: the majority of Habanos smokers will swear that NC's that could be mistaken for a Cuban cigar are as rare as hen's teeth. Yet, in the few near, almost, semi-scientific tastings that I've witnessed, people are as bad as chance level when asked to pick Cuban/non-Cuban. In other words, flip a coin. 'Splain me that one.

As for the Padron 1926, if you were to cut off my tongue and stomp on it with boots, I'd still be able to tell you with 100% confidence that it was not a Habanos. There are cigars that are Cuban-esque but this is not one of them.

Wilkey

All in the twang. I spent alot of cash trying to find a substitute. Even a mediocre CC has a difference from a Nic, Hond, Dom cig.

Pre craze early 90's Partagas #10 had alot of flavor and spice but could not compare to a present day Montecristo.