How long does it take to acquire a full appreciate for specific tastes

I am a noob. Got my first shipment from the czar in not too long ago and theyve been sitting in the humi for almost 2 weeks. Maybe this wasn't long enough, but had to try em anyway :)

Anyway, I hadn't spent much time on the forums before making the purchase, so I went the unexperienced route of Monte #4s and PSD#4s. Smoked a monte tonight. Construction, draw, aroma was all better than the NCs I've smoked, but I still mainly just taste tobacco. Now I have no idea if the box just needed more time in the humi, or more time in general, its a MAR09 box, but I wasn't able to taste any of the delicious flavors I read in various reviews. Could be a bad box even, I don't know.

Let's assume the cigars are fine. How long did it take you guys to learn to appreciate cigars to the fullest potential? I'm guessing its a bit of an acquired taste, you don't just suddenly become an expert.

it may have helped to give them just a touch longer before trying but you'll find that the more you smoke and the more variety you smoke, the more you pick up. you'll find differences that become more apparent. no set time. everyone different. try and smoke a wide variety of different smokes. also, never hurts to record your thoughts. pist them if you want but even if just for yourself, it does help.

Hey, Reg

There are a number of reasons why you might not be impressed with the first stick out of a recently purchased box of Monte 4's...

They haven't had enough time in your humidor to stabilize.

This cigar is mass produced and is just too inconsistent.

You just might not like the Monte profile.

Now, pull out a PSD4, and smoke it to the nub.

If that doesn't knock your socks off, you better give up on Habanos!