Aged vs Old

I am still new to the cigar world, having only been in the hobby for about 6 months. I am thoroughly enjoying experimenting with the vast variety of CCs that are available. It has been a remarkable experience to sample the different flavors that are unique to the CCs.

My question has to due with aging. In the Classic Posts section, I read the dialogue from Ken and Tampa about taste vs flavor and the chemistry associated with this and the aging process. I am still not sure what I should expect from an aged cigar. I am assuming that it should still retain its original flavors, however the transition in flavors should be more smooth.

The reason that I ask is that I recently received a couple of boxes (from a European competitor, before I found this site). These items were on a big promotional discount. Once they were received, I was surprised to see that the boxes were dated from 2000 (specifics below). Upon smoking one from each box, I was dissapointed in that the CC flavors that I am accustomed to, were virtually non-existant. To me, they just tasted "old" or maybe like old shoe leather, for lack of a better description. I have not had a young cigar from these vitolas, so I don't have a basis of comparison. Also, I am sending a couple of cigars to another member on this forum for a more experienced opinion.

Visually, the products look like what I would expect from something of that age. The boxes (dress boxes) show some age, but not abuse. There is a plume dusting on the cigars.

Is this a characteristic of an aged cigar? Are my tastebuds too inexperienced to get the most out of these cigars? Are the cigars too old or improperly stored?

Punch Churchill TEN 00ES (Jun 00)

SLR Churchill ??? LL00 (Nov 00) (can't read the factory code, faded)

I look forward to hearing any comments that you may have.

Thank you,

Rob

Hey Rob...