Rum or Bourbon?

01Vert

I am a rum drinker and typical include Papas Pilar, Zacapa 23 year and some other minor rums.   I recently tried bourbon (Blantons) and found it to be enjoyable with a cigar.   However, I have no real depth of experience with  bourbon so I am asking the group about their experiences pairing bourbon with cigars, not necessarily just Cubans, versus pairing with rum.

Thanks for the opinions.  

I'm not a bourbon expert but I'd start out trying some of the easiest to access but well-respected bourbons.  Since you mentioned Zacapa and you liked Blantons, I'd tend to look for bourbons that offer a sweet profile.  I'm thinking you should check out  Buffalo Trace, Four Roses Small Batch, Elijah Craig Small Batch, etc. From there, you can branch out.  Interested to see what others say. 

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, TroutBum said:

Russels Reserve and Wild Turkey Rare Breed are solid neat pairings with a smoke very sweet to me 

I agree, the Russell's Reserve 10 year is truly outstanding with a cigar.

• Like 1

I often find rum to be very sweet. I consider myself a fan of sweeter bourbons. From what I've been told, and experienced, wheated bourbons tend to offer a sweeter profile. Some wheated n sweeted recommendations, in no particular order, include: weller special reserve, larceny, makers mark and makers 46, 1702 sweet wheat. 

Imo, Weller special reserve is great but only if you can get it at a reasonable price. It's probably not worth the 3rd market upcharge. 

If you don't like sweet... Then disregard. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

So, let me ask - are we talking single barrel rums like stuff from Rolling Fork? Or are we talking commercially available rums? It's an ENTIRELY different world that I would suggest you explore. As for bourbons, continue on your journey. While Blanton's is a fine bourbon, try some Old Forester 1920, Knob Creek, perhaps some Elijah Craig options as well. Good luck!

• Like 1