peat-influenced whiskies etc...

Ken Gargett

Westland Peated American Single Malt and McCarthy’s Single Barrel Cask Strength are two offerings from the PNW (US) that I’m quite fond of. The McCarthy’s especially. A powerful dram with no lack of peat expression.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 3

I have very little personal experience with peated whisky outside of Scotch, interested to see some suggestions.

For me some of the standard go to smoky drams would be Laphroaig 10, Ardbeg Uigeadail and Lagavulin 16.

When I want something a bit lighter with just a touch of smoke I reach for Oban 14.

• Like 3

I remember first discovering the difference between peaty and non-peaty whiskies. Not being much of a drinker I'm sure I came across both while younger and probably had no idea what the peat was!

I can totally understand people's aversion to the peat. It's a very, very pungent characteristic. Strangely enough I actually can enjoy them right along with the non-peaty ones. I had a friend who could do whiskey all day long but would start to gag if he even got a whiff of Islay.

Of course, in the US, Lagavulin 16 is the value standard. Outstanding, deep peat and I think $60 at Costco. Then of course the trusty Laphroaig 10. I hear Laphroaig 30 is the gold standard for Islay. Unfortunately, I've never had it. 

• Like 4

7 minutes ago, RichG said:

Ardbeg Uigeadail

Yes, I forgot that one. I don't drink really at all anymore but that one brings me back. Excellent value, and if you want to understand what is meant by a "finish" in whiskey, that one is amazing.

Kilkerran Heavily Peated and most things Ardbeg are usually what I go for when i'm looking for something peated. My absolute favorite is Ardbeg 22 but that's basically impossible to get outside of their distillery.

I used to love peaty until i picked up cigars again. I find the tastes don't go well together so peaty days are for my smoke free sessions