Easter Bunny hibernates for 16 years.

I mentioned to a friend last week that I'd just returned from Amsterdam with a lot of cigars, and she told me that she went on a cigar factory tour in Havana while on holiday back in 2003.  

She left with a few tubos, got home, put them in the wardrobe and forgot about them.  She has just gifted me an RyJ Churchill, Monte Petit Tubo, and a Monte A in a varnished slide box.

They have never been opened, and the caps are screwed tight.  I'm thinking of unscrewing them a few turns then put them in at 60 rh for a few months, then 65 for a few, then take the caps off for a few, then finally taking them out of the tubes for a few more months.  With the Monte A, I will just have to take it out the box and straight into the 60 rh humidor.

I am quite new to cigars, am I going about it the right way?

The average humidity in London ( says that’s where you are) is pretty humid on average, so unless they were subject to wild temperature swings I’d guess you have some beauties there. I’m sure others will give more ideas, but if it were me I’d take them out of the tube and examine them. If they look and feel ok I’d probably freeze them for a few days just to be safe then put them in your humidor. 

I'd be pessimistic.

Rh plummets with A/C. 

And I'm no entomologist, but I gotta believe that if the stogies haven't been totally consumed by beetles after all this time, there's no need to freeze.  I'd also think that freezing could do more damage.  

Why not take 'em out and take a look-see?  

2 hours ago, rckymtn22 said:

I would open them to see if they have been ruined by mold before going through the effort. 

Bloody hell, you're right there mate.  I could've contaminated my full humidor!

2 hours ago, rcarlson said:

I'd be pessimistic.

Rh plummets with A/C.