Long Term Storage in Coolidor

Just hoping to hear some experiences of storing boxes of cigars in a coolidor for the long term - say a 3-5 years.

Specifically, I've got some concerns if the plastic of the cooler impacting the taste of the cigar.

I am just too paranoid?

Good question... just from my experience, I've seen no such issues. I've been using coolers for long term storage for 8 or 9 years and have had no problems whatsoever. That said, all of my cigars in the coolers are boxed as I keep loose cigars in my main humidor.

Just hoping to hear some experiences of storing boxes of cigars in a coolidor for the long term - say a 3-5 years.

Specifically, I've got some concerns if the plastic of the cooler impacting the taste of the cigar.

I am just too paranoid?

:lol:

I have 9 or 10 coolers of varying capacities up to 48 qt. I'm a Coleman fan. I can say unequivocally that up to 8 years in coolers results in nothing more terrible than perfectly conditioned, delicious smelling, great smoking Habanos. Of course, I should say that all cigars are stored in their original boxes or reused slide lid boxes or cabinets and I also line the walls with spare cedar sheet or boards from broken up SLBs.

Wilkey

I think as stated they are a reasonably priced, viable cigar storage solutions. One thing is for sure, cigars will absorb smells and VOC emissions. New plastics emit odors and you should clean any plastic storage, regardless the design, extremely well and deodorize it to the best of your ability before putting it to use. -Piggy

Never had a problem. The only thing I do before I put cigars in a cooler is to fill it to the brim with water, take a cup of water out and replace it with a cup of bleach. Let it sit for an hour or so then empty and dry it. It will neutralize any odors from an old or new cooler. I'm not even sure it's necessary, but I figure it can't hurt (and it never has.)

:lol: