CC's that DON'T age well

There have been a lot of threads about the aging potential of various CC's as well as threads about what cigars are smoking well fresh, but I'm curious if there are any CC's out there that dont age well?

I know the NC industry is known for blending cigars that start to drop off after 3-5 years but I've never heard anyone say the Cuban Cigar X's profile dropped off after only a short stay in the humi.

I'm not talking about cigars that arent worth aging, but more cigars that tned to peak early and decline within 5 years

• Like 1

Decline within 5 years? Only some ELs as I tend to like them within a year if at all.

Regular production, at least all the ones I have enough of a sample size to comment on, do not decline within 5 years.

I’ve no personal experience with this, but throwing out there for comment - I remember reading a forum post somewhere (can’t remember which forum though I believe someone may have been claiming to quote MRN??), that some bigger gauge sticks such as Monte #2’s will being declining earlier than what people think (say 7-8 yr mark), due to (i) higher proportion of volado leaves in such sticks generally; and (ii) flavour profile being bean based (ie coffee, vanilla), and these flavours dissipating sooner than other flavours.

Thoughts on this?

• Like 1

It seems that many here like SLR Regios younger than older, at least that was the message I got when I asked the question here. While it appears that they can age, most here prefer them young. I've only had young examples myself, so I can't be of help with aged ones.

Out of all the cigars that come and go in my humidor....(roughly 500-600 cigars at this point) . The only one that hasn't aged well is the the RyJ 2009 Duke for me. For whatever reason it was splendid young.........let it sit for a 4-5 years and revisited and after smoking a couple they were just off. Tasteless, super mild, no flavor. Further aging not in its future.....smoking the rest.

JD