super old cigars

In a bar the other night, I was surprised to find hidden away at the back of the wine menu a vintage cigar list. Amongst them was a 1920s Por Larrañaga 'Festivos', a petit corona. I was in a rush so will go back sometime to see how they actually store their smokes, but that aside, I have zero experience with real vintage cigars so would it be any good?

I would have assumed that even kept in ideal conditions for the last 90 years it would pretty much crumble if you so much as gave it a gentle squeeze. They had a few other interesting ones but this one stood out because of the extraordinary age, the next closest being from the 70s.

Has anyone smoked cigars of this age? What are they like - if they're still in one piece I'd have guessed they become a bit flat but I've no idea. Would love to hear from someone who's into this type of thing.

:)

Would you ever really regret purchasing and smoking this cigar :)

Vintage cigars are a crapshoot. It could be magnificent, it could be underwhelming or it could be shithouse but I always love to find out.

Oldest I have smoked is late 1800's. It was ....Ok

Storage discipline is the key but who knows how they were really stored.

When smoking a vintage cigar I like to google and print the major happenings of that year. I read it as I smoke accompanied by an aged rum. Amazing to think about what was happening in that period of history. You immediately feel part of it.

Experience it.

I'll defo keep it in mind for later, perhaps for a special occasion.

Not sure if I'm supposed to post prices of 3rd party cigars on this site - I do have a copy of the whole cigar menu if I can post that?

From a different place, but I've smoked some of the 1997 Vegas Robaina DC they stock.... what can I say other than :):D:clap:

In addition to my last message, I found on the web, that Cigar Aficionado tasted the same cigar (PL Festivos), but from 1930. They gave it a 92. At the time, the cigar was 73.