Are this authentic?

BonVivant

I am trying to find out about this RyJ Fabulosos from 1995-96. Are this custom rolled? Are this fakes?

I would just like to get to the bottom of what the hell are those? Thanks in advance. Leo.

Please measure & advise the ring & length of these cigars.

Please advise the origin of these cigars.....ie who is offering them (GENERALLY ONLY.....online store, eBay etc)

Please measure & advise the ring & length of these cigars.

Please advise the origin of these cigars.....ie who is offering them (GENERALLY ONLY.....online store, eBay etc)

Hi Trevor,

The cigars measure are 47" X 9"+ and are not for sale, trade, etc... (and no online stores, Ebay, etc...)

The cigars have been acquired from a prominent Russian vendor, but you know all of this already. I have been writing to you for more than two months already. :D

Thanks, Leo

Just out of curiosity, I did a brief web search. Trevor's website indicates that this cigar was offered in both a 10 ct. varnished box and a 25 ct. dress box, and claims that it was discontinued in the 1980's. Both Christie's and Mitchell Orchant have offered the 10 ct. boxes for sale, but not the 25er. Here is a pic of the 10 ct. box.

Wilkey, do you have any input?

RYJFabulosos.jpg

I may be wrong but I thought that the round "Vendido En Cuba - Comintur" stamp on the bottom always means a fake box.

I'm afraid I don't have a good feeling about this. Inconsistent or troubling circumstantial (procurement), documentary (no prior record of such item from auction houses), and forensic (the Comintur stamp) evidence in isolation would be cause for skepticism. The confluence of all three constitute more than a little reason for concern.

That said, of course there is the possibility that this was a one-off, special, or favor...but the provenance would have to be air-tight. Absent that, the conservative outlook would be to consider these to be something than what they are purported to be.

Wilkey