What will it take for Cuba to produce enough cigars to consistently meet the demand.

I’m curious to hear everyone’s opinion on the current state of the tobacco industry in Cuba? I’d like to hear everyone’s thoughts on what needs to be done in order to meet the growing demand for cuban cigars. 

The Cuban tobacco industry like any other sector/business has its up’s and down’s. However not being able to consistently keep up with demand is a problem. I’m not an expert on the production side of the Cuban tobacco industry. I read and learn as much as I can about it simply because I love Cuban cigars and I want the Cuban tobacco industry to flourish. I’m sure there are a lot of very well connected and educated people on this forum that have a much better understanding of what the specific problems are pertaining to this issue. Again I’m no expert myself. You probably have a lot more knowledge than I do regarding this topic. 

• Like 1

It would require a nuclear warhead to take out 4/5th of the world's population for Cuba to produce enough cigars to consistently meet the demand. As its highly unlikely for Cuba to ever increase supply, a reduction in the worlds population is the only way for supply and demand to reach equilibrium. 

That seems extreme but I get what you’re saying. The demand continues to rise but only so much output from a production standpoint. Consistently might not have been the best word for me to use. However I still think with the little knowledge I have on this specific topic that something can be done going forward to increase production. Or at least it’s my hope. 

2 hours ago, NSXCIGAR said:

Production pre-Rev was at least 3-4 times higher than it is today. I believe close to 100,000 hectares were being planted whereas today they struggle to reach 20,000. Demand for Cuban tobacco and cigars in general was much higher in the early 20th century than it is even close to being today.