The science of cigars

As some of you may know, I am a chef. And in the last 25 years I have seen numerous changes in the way and the why food is cooked. The science of why foods react certain ways has gone from myths and old wives tales to a very finite and precise science (for better or worse). That got me thinking about my other passion, cigars. I'm certain since we're only talking about one product that their isn't as much to learn but none the less I am curious about what may be myth and what may be actual science regarding to cigars. Such as "does a cigar actually lose oils when it dries"? Or are there flavor and aroma compounds that are in the water moisture in the cigars that dry out? Does putting a plugged cigar in the fridge actually benefit the cigar at all? Just curious if anyone out there has any scientific knowledge or questions they can share on this subject.

Thanks

Great questions. One I think of is how little scence is available on what gives cigars their flavour. What makes a cigar taste sweet, toffee, coffee, salty, stewed fruit etc.?

Just about every every winemaker puts samples through a mass spectrometer to see for themselves the concentration and ratio of compounds that are known to produce flavour and aroma. Is anybody doing this with cigars?

Habanos might, I'd doubt it, and it they are they aren't saying.

It's something I'm working on myself. Results, I think, will be interesting and I'll post them on this forum first.

Something like, 2 RASS and 2 PSD4. Same factory and month. Put them through a mass spectrometer. I'd expect differences in all samples. Cigars from a single box are not the same as two samples from 1 bottle of wine. I would expect differences as they are individual discrete objects, proabably made by different rollers, possibly rolled in different weeks.