Moldy Monte

Hey everyone. I'm fairly new to FOH, so I'm not sure if the picture will post properly. I just got a box of 10 Montecristo 2 in the mail today, and noticed that one stick has mold on the cap area. I have two questions, looking at the mold on this particular stick, is it fine to smoke? My other question is, since only one stick had mold on it, is it fine to place the other 9 sticks in my humidor? Or, should I place the other 9 sticks in a separate tuperdore or something, because they were next to a moldy cigar? Thanks for the advice in advance.

DSC01299

I have seen this quite often with the Montecristos but I think it is plume. Yes it is alright to smoke just make sure you wipe of all the plume first. In regards to your second question all my sticks are in individual boxes of ten. I wipe the plume off one or two cigars and it doesn't seem to spread to the other sticks but if your putting them into a larger batch of cigars it is probably safer to quarantine them for a little while.

Awesome! Thanks for the info Prominentes. Is it fine to store the other 9 sticks in my humidor? Or, should I keep those in a separate container as they were next to mold?

Thanks Marevas. Sorry for asking again, your post came up right after I hit the "post" button haha. Thanks for the help. It is appreciated.

Looks like mold to me . Plume is a very fine white dust and even my oldest cigars do not have it on them. How old are the Montes

I had a box of Romeo by Romeo y Julieta, They were in the bottom shelf on my humi right above the humidifier. I noticed that the ones directly over the humi had the exact same mold on them. I wiped them off and moved the tray a big higher and moved the humidifier so it was away from the cigars. A month later there was no signs of the mild and the sticks looked fine.

Wow, thanks for all the help and answering my questions.