Intangible qualities of cigars

On Sunday I sat on my balcony on a crisp and sunny Melbourne afternoon thoroughly enjoying a Siglo IV coupled with a lovely Appleton Estate Reserve 8 year old and it got me thinking.

How much does mood and setting affect the enjoyment of a fine cigar? Or a lousy one for that matter. I am only very new to this hobby and already it has spoken to me on many levels.

Does the same cigar (any type) smoked in 2 different times and settings have always have a different experience.

Clearly when Ken and the Prez get together they look forward to it with child-like stupidity because they are clearly such long time mates they know they are going to have a blast hanging sh!t on each other for the next few hours.

And so do we all when we catch up with mates. You know you will enjoy yourself. And I guess that is my point. How much is a cigar changed by our surroundings? A crap stick will always be a crap stick but is it slightly better when in great company. And by the same token do people feel the reverse applies... Smoke a supposed great stick in less than ideal situation and how much worse can it get?

Wine is often the same. Having a great time and all of a sudden that $9 pinot your tightass best mate brought over doesn't seem so cheap. You will remind him of it for many years but you still probably got drunk together and made fun of him publicly jester.gif

This is a great thought, and, you are right on the money.

I recall vividly from my studies in psychology, particularly subjects that touched on substance abuse and harm minimisation, that in some schools of thought, the setting and the company can have a greater effect on the overall experience than the substance itself.

Interesting topic.

How much does mood and setting affect the enjoyment of a fine cigar? Or a lousy one for that matter.