PARTAGAS SERIE D NO.4

Here is my first review, I have been smoking cigars regularly for three years but mostly those that are not isom's. That being said I was privliged to receive this stick form a generous friend who is on the board and others (Seadub for those curious). For dinner I had just prepared a garlic infused rack of lamb with Barbera Sicilian olive oil and rosemary roasted potatoes. I love food and enjoy the balance and interplay of a well prepared meal. Cooking was once a living for me and I enjoy all things epicurean and consider myself a fair judge of flavor. That being said bear with me as my palate is still a bit underexperienced in the realm of the sweet leaf. While I was not able to discern all of the nuances of the tobacco, what I did notice above all else was the smoothness of this thick and meaty smoke. The ash was perfect and the burn was beyond compare. The start was smooth and clean with none of the sharpness of my other Dominican and Ecudorians. Halfway through I knocked the first ash and immediately there was a change to a slightly sweeter tasting draw. I continued on an could start to feel the tingle in my arms of the warm rush of a blissful cigar "buzz". I was extra greedy with this cigar and really "nubbed" it to the bitter end, and even then it was not bitter, just a bit sharper and more powerful on the final few draws. This will surely be one of the first to go into my humidor and was a perfect compliment, and in no way bullied, to the hearty and herbaceous lamb dinner.

Great review, Foxfire. You know, I think Chris must not like cigars. He keeps giving them all away. As to the PSD4, this is one of favorite cigars. I love the long finish of this cigar, and for me, it has the best ending of any cigar. A nubber every time.