$7,000 chair aka status symbol

https://www.businessinsider.com/rich-young-men-herman-miller-eames-chair-trend-2024-4

Would you?  Have you already?  

I admit, I have something similar - NOT that price point - in my home office. There it sits, in all its leathery glory.  On one side, a stack of books purely designed to make whomever peers into the office feel “less than.” On the other side, a guitar, because, you know, I am an artist too.  😂 

Reality:  it gets zero use.  My bachelor days are LONG GONE. It conveys nada, to no one. The books have dust on them, literally  The guitar is not tuned. There isn’t even a guitar pick in the room.  

I blame the kids, blah, blah   

I often think… one day, I’ll get to sit in it and read something, anything.  

In reality, it’s likely to be as unused in the future as it is currently. Time will tell.  

Anyway, read this article and thought, “oh lord, this is/was me.” 

Cheers and hope all are having a great weekend! 

• Like 2

Talking about status symbol we have here in France a famous publicist named Jacques Séguéla who said a few years back, "if by the time you're 50 you don't own a Rolex, you kinda wasted your life." 

At the time it made so much noise that his statement is still not forgotten to this day (here it isn't well perceived to talk about one's financial success, yet alone show it off...).

I think it is a shame because loving and owning pretty and valuable things isn't the same thing as showing off. I own a Yamaha C5 (demi-queue piano, worth a nice car) that's sitting in my living-room and I enjoy its sight and its sound every single day (although I must admit I can't play it to its potential as I'm still a below average piano player 😅).

I see people's reaction when they first come in my house but I didn't buy it for that and it annoys me a bit somehow.