A question for the financial-minded...

Something I've been wondering for a little while.....

The more I get into CCs, the more I wish I could make up for lost time and stock up now on what I won't be able to find later. Part of the lost time stems from being only 25, and thus being too young to really have known what I was missing a few years back. Regardless - I would really like to be able to stock up now before it gets too late.

Question - If I walked into a major bank today (for me it would be a Canadian Bank, but the question applies to all countries and their banks), Sat down with a banker and asked for a $10,000 Loan to purchase a large supply of cigars for aging and consumption purposes, what would they tell me? Further to that, what would they have told me, had I asked 2 years ago, before the recession hit, would it be any different?

Background info, for those with financial backgrounds -

I'm 25. I'm an officer in the Navy, with a Mechanical Engineering degree, a steady job with a current base pay rate of $5800 Monthly, plus additional incentive pay entitlements for Cost of Living, etc, 2 major Credit Cards, 2 Dept. Store credit Cards. I own a car with negligible collateral value, and I rent an appt, with an intention to buy a house in approx. 4-6 months.

What would the bank tell me if I wanted to borrow money to buy cigars? Would they laugh me out the door? I am curious!

I'm a designated accountant (CMA) in Canada and I deal with banks quite a bit, I also like to dabble in personal financial planning, so here is my take on your situation.

Don't mention the part about cigars. Yes they will think you are crazy and probably not lend you any money.