Time works wonders

There is no rule without an exception, there is no rose without a thorn

post-3407-1237224557.jpg

Question to the connoisseurs. What is it? Is it first Cohiba's release? Why in cello? This photo was posted in one russian-speaking cigar community like a proposal to potential buyers. They are looks like not old cigars and part of box with steel hinge is real?! What can you say about?

I am no expert on true vintage cigars. Like many I refer to MRN's book for some reference and pictures of cigars that I have never seen, nor will likely ever see. I have laid eyes on a few aged cigars in cello and can say only this. If those are 40 YO Cohibas, this pigs got wings! Of course these could have been aged in Sputnik; I have never seen a 'space-aged' cigar -LOL! Good luck in you searching. -Piggy

Dont know if real but the cello is browned you can see it if you look at the very top.Also Cubans did come in cello not just machine mades also the higher quality ones.

Cant wait to hear from the more seasoned veterans on older CC chime in as it will be a new learning experience to me.

The first Cohiba design was released in 1969. Created by Daniel Garcia Rojas under the

supervision of Celia Sanchez Manduley, Fidel's highly praised girlfriend who fought with Fidel

in the Sierra Maestra, she is the one who came out with the name COHIBA and the Idea of El Laguito.

At the time, the first version did not last long because CUBATOBACO found the design had

too much of a colonial background and was abandoned. Total, 3 designs before finally the

one we all know from the early 80's.

Now about the photo up above, These cigars are extremly rare, IF NOT FAKES.

That's why It would be very inportant to see,

1° What is the vitola name ? ( There is a reason)

2° A better view of the whole WOODEN BOX ? (There is a real reason)

3° A good look at the inside vista, and all the markings. ETC.