RoT Aging

Having limited experience with Habanos, it would be helpfull to have the almighty experienced FOH members advise on the general Rule of Thumb for aging newer smokes before sampling. (Man, I hate lighting up before it's in prime time.)

For instance, how long would you lay down the following before cracking the box:

07 RASS

07 Siglo I

Bolivar Gold Medal

I would think that some other newer smokers may have some similiar questions about other brands/box codes regarding some of the more popular and must have smokes. Maybe someone can just post a basic list on this thread?

Now, I wish I had a mermaid photo to back up this entry, but I'm SOL on that for now ;-)

I'm by no means an expert, but I've read a few posts that recommended aging them for at least 30 days in your humidor before trying the first one. Maybe set aside a certain number of cigars from each box for aging and smoke the rest at your leisure.

» For instance, how long would you lay down the following before cracking

» the box:

Fortunately, you have selected several cigars that are often good with only a month or two "stabilization" (not aging) time. Then, they'll likely go into a "dumb" period of at least a year or more. So, try 'em, and if you like 'em, smoke 'em! If they're muted, or harsh, put 'em away for a year and try again. Or, smoke some now, and age the rest. Either way, you're good!

Welcome aboard mate.

Rest 30 days at 63-65% RH.

Order at least 3 of each in a singles package. If you do not experience what they are like fresh.....how do you know the lineal improvement or otherwise :-)

When someone says to me they only smoke Habanos with 7 years on them I respect that. I do wonder to myself however, how in Gods name can you experience the "transition?'

True appreciation of habanos (and cigars in general) is to understand their evolution from fresh to aged. Do not shirk the task ;-)