Trinidad Fundadores

opus119.jpg

Size

7 5/8 x 40

This is the most impressively flavored cigar that I’ve smoked to date. I’m still fairly new to smoking, and tend to gravitate toward more robusto sized cigars and seem to avoid most vitolas with a ring gauge of less than 40. I split these with Mike33 and just might have to steal the rest off him.

Pre-Light impression

The cigar is beautifully constructed and firm to the touch. The wrapper is nearly flawless in appearance and looks like a milk chocolate twix candy bar. It had a swift trip and only rested for a day in my humidor before I decided to burn this baby. The smell was gorgeous. Dense, naked tobacco filled my nose and I was practically drooling over this baby.

opus121.jpg

I'm loving this thing!

opus122.jpg

Mike33 ready to fire his cigar up

Cut

I used my Xikar cutter and popped the cap off as gently as I could. This cigar was beautifully constructed, and there was no problem with loose tobacco unraveling. It drew well which was an immense relief after all the horror stories of smaller ring gauge cigars being plugged. I’m glad those days are behind us and hope to never hear of them again.

Initial light

I toasted the foot for a good thirty seconds with my butane lighter before I finally began the smoke. The foot burned evenly and the entire cigar only required one touch up during the smoke. The first 20 minutes were very light and indistinct. I picked up a lot of flavors but nothing really popped out at me.

The Smoke