H. Upmann Mag 46 - May 05

H. Upmann Mag 46 - May 05

I'm not that good at writing reviews but I enjoyed this stick and I had some freetime so I figured I would write a review about it. The construction was fine for the most part. To be fair, I chose the ugliest one out of the box. This one happened to also have a crack by the foot. You can see the sample and the crack in the picture below.

Mag46Resized.jpg

Though not the most aesthetically pleasing stick, it was certainly not ugly. Also, the burn was fine. The draw was a touch on the easy side but well within acceptable limits. I lit the cigar with my torch lighter and took a draw. The initial draw did not yield much flavor but the flavors started coming through after a couple more draws. At first, I mostly tasted tobacco with a dash of honey and white pepper. After about half an inch, the legendary Mag 46 coffee taste finally made its appearance. The stick made me imagine a cup of creamed coffee with a roll of honey glazed tobacco leaf used as a stirring rod, perhaps with some roasted nuts drifting on top. I don't know about other people but for me, the creamy coffee and honey tastes are the most memorable about the Mag 46. :hungry:

Towards the middle, the flavors changed from a creamy coffee to a darker coffee. I also started to taste a hint of lemon. By the 2/3 point, the stick was starting to get stronger. Soon after that, the Mag started getting tanic and bitter. I decided that I had received plenty of enjoyment from the stick and let it rest in peace.

By now, you should be wondering why you wasted your time reading this far down. :confused::lol2: Anywho... overall, I am very pleased with how these are turning out. When I first received them, I was less than impressed. Now they're really starting to pull it together. No doubt these will get even better with additional age. Extra age should round out a few rough edges and really make these shine. For now, I give it a 90 (A-).