Over or under humidified?

Scrubber

I'm pretty new to cigars so I'm not sure what I'm experiencing. I've tried to find my answer but can't.

I've purchased both NC and CCs and it seems to be affecting both. They have been in the humidor for about 2 weeks. I currently have 72% boveda packs inside.

The cigars are very hard. There is no give at all or at least very little give when pinching. However, when pinching there is no cracking or crunching sound which makes me think they aren't dried out. They arrived like this and still seem the same. They were purchased from 2 different vendors.

I've smoked a few and they seem to smoke ok but some time have some burns issues, usually tunnelling.

Is it possible they could be over humidified?

Any thoughts or help would be appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'd say overhumidified.

Most stores keep cigars at 70% Rh and lots of Cuban cigar smokers prefer even as low as 62%Rh.

I'd back the Rh down until the cigar smokes better and you enjoy the flavors the best. Find what you like, but I'd guess your sticks are a wee wet.

• Like 1

That's what I thought.

I guess the only thing that confused me was that most articles I read said that overhumidified cigars would be very soft and dry ones would be hard. My thinking was the excess humidity causes swelling which makes them hard because the wrapper doesn't feel dried out.

I'll try dropping the humidity and see how I go. I also put a few in a dry box last night to see if they smoke any better.

72 is way too high for Cubans. Separate them from the NC's and drop down to a 65 boveda for about 60 days and see how they feel/smoke. I keep mine around 62-63%.

What is the temp in your humidor and what is the temp in the room where the humi is?

Do you trust your source on the Cubans? You say you're new to cigars. There are plenty of fakes floating around.