Plastic Smell is Back

Livo

I bought a new 28 bottle wine cooler. I scrubbed it with water and baking soda, aired it out for a week until the smell seemed to be gone, got the temp and rh stabilized and stocked it up. I thought I was good to go.

Problem is the smell is back. Not sure what to do now. I'm new to this so I don't have anywhere else to put my boxes. I'm thinking of adding some newspaper and maybe a box of baking soda, but I'm not sure if that will do the trick or if it is ok to do with my boxes in there. Any ideas would be much appreciated because I am at a loss and don't want to ruin my cigars. Thanks in advance.

I have never heard of the plastic smell coming back. You can smell the plastic on the inside over the smell of the cedar and the tobacco?

Yeah, it's only been stocked for 3 weeks or so. My only idea was that it might be from the built-in fan running and blowing out a smell from the fridge's "insides". It's thermoelectric if that matters.

I bought a new 28 bottle wine cooler. I scrubbed it with water and baking soda, aired it out for a week until the smell seemed to be gone, got the temp and rh stabilized and stocked it up. I thought I was good to go.

Problem is the smell is back. Not sure what to do now. I'm new to this so I don't have anywhere else to put my boxes. I'm thinking of adding some newspaper and maybe a box of baking soda, but I'm not sure if that will do the trick or if it is ok to do with my boxes in there. Any ideas would be much appreciated because I am at a loss and don't want to ruin my cigars. Thanks in advance.

Line it with an odorless vapor barrier covered by Spanish cedar.

The smell could come in if the fan is working non stop.

what is the room temp and the temp the fridge is set to?

if there is a 10c and above difference the fan will work non stop and that is not good on many levels.