Humidifier Refill?

jay83091

Hi Experts,

I've purchased my humidor few weeks ago with traditional rectangle shape humidifier and crystal humidifier gel in a jar.

My digital hygrometer is indicating that it is around 69% humidity after a week but I was wondering, how often do I need to re-fill (re-soak) my traditional rectangle humidifier with distilled water?

I am a total newb, if anyone could recommend me a type of humidifier that works quite well and consistently it will be awesome :)

How's the Hydra electronic humidifier?

I have about 100 cigars in my humidor and it would really suck if I mess them up.

Thanks alot

they won't get messed up quite as easily as you'd think. They're very Tough and somewhat resilient ! :)

A lot depends on your climate (or home humidification as well) - here the winters are very cold and dry and it requires more fillings, where as the summers are hot and humid and filling less often is the case.

Just take it easy and don't stress out about it, have a look every few days and see how your humidity is, and it will probably be just fine. If it's stable at 69 and you see it dropping add a little water. Personally i used to use a puckifier 100 in my desktop - i prefer beads to gel.

I agree with Goalie and Tmac, you want to get the puck from cigarmony, beads will hold a rock steady RH, best investment you can make for your cigars

I have a Hydra electronic humidifier, works great, but my humidor is about the smallest that it can be in. Unless you have a 150+ stick humidor it will be way too much humidification. Like I said though, 150 the smallest that you can put it in. I'm looking to upgrade to a 300 count humi soon. (well I've been looking for a while but that thing called life keeps taking all my spare cigar money). :D

Thanks for your replies.

I am about to purchase those RH beads but which one should I get?

65% or 70%?

I thought 70/70 is the optimal condition for humidor to be in?