Can you tell a CC just by the ash?

Hey folks,

I was at my neighbors house on thanksgiving night enjoying some scotch and cigars with my neighbor and his brother. I brought over a few cubans that I had purchased In Sao Paulo a while back. My neighbors brother stated that the cigar I gave him, that he was smoking...was a fake. When I asked him how he knew, he responded with, "well you can tell by the color of the ash. This ash is white in color and cubans produce an ash that is mostly black and grey". Is this true? Is this a definative way of determining whether a cuban is fake? Or are there other factors that can be observed?

I'm no ash expert, but I think it would be difficult to discern definitively the origin of the cigar, much less if it is fake or not, by the color of the ash.

Could it be that your neighbor and his brother was sloshed when he stated this?

Yes we were all drinking but this gentleman claimed to be quite the cigar expert. I do know that the next night when we got together, I gave him what I beleived to be a real Bolivar Royal Corona and he loved it and yes the ash was blackish grey.

Keenly interested only in anything relevant to his work, Holmes wrote a famous monograph based on his long study of tobacco ash. "I found the ash of a cigar, which my special knowledge of tobacco ashes enables me to pronounce as an Indian cigar," he informed Watson in the course of the investigation, ‘The Boscombe Valley Murder.’

"I have, as you know, devoted some attention to this, and written a little monograph on the ashes of 140 different varieties of pipe, cigar, and cigarette tobacco. Having found the ash, I then looked round and discovered the stump among the moss where he had tossed it. It was an Indian cigar, of the variety which are rolled in Rotterdam."