Diplomaticos No. 3....from 08?

ChanceSchmerr

Stopped off at one of my local Victoria, BC cigar stores, one that I trust, but havn't been to in a while. A friend is in town from Ottawa, and I wanted to see if there were any discontinued Coronas for sale at this store that I could pick up to try with my buddy! What Luck! I found a box of Diplomaticos No. 3, the best corona i've tasted so far (in my search for what I'm missing with the demise of coronas), so I eagerly purchased a couple sticks...

Then I thought to myself - "Self, that box you had one from in Vancouver had about 7 years on it - what about this one?"

I asked the proprietor if I could see the box date, and he willingly obliged....whereupon I was met with

OEB Feb 08

Feb 08?????? I thought the Dip #3 had been discontinued in 2006? The box appeared legit, from a quick inspection (i'm no expert). I had picked one cigar from the depleted top row, a little bloom on it indicated to me that it had been here for a little while, but underneath, the bottom row looked much newer, with no bloom whatsoever (but a nice oily wrapper).........

Whats the deal here, are they still making Dip 3s? I trust this tobacconist, none of the cigars I've had from him have ever been poor or questionable quality......

I will be smoking one of them tonight, I'll hopefully the mystery will become clearer after I smoke it!

Purely a guess, as obviously I could not know - the year stamp possibly set incorrectly. I do know that the OEB factory code was used in '06 and early '07.

I do not know if it was used as early as February '06. I also do not know if it has been used again in '08. You could also check the warranty seal numbers

to see where they fall in.

So there are a bunch of I don't knows - big help :)