PRIME RIB

Rogers72

A work mate of mine used to make one every year - he used one of the electric rotisseries you see on TV.

I believe it was called the ronco showtime.

He spice rubbed it the day before, let it sit overnight, then put it on the rotisserie for approx twenty minutes

per pound.

Delicious, and set and forget.

I have agreed to help out my Mother in Law on Christmas and cook the Prime Rib. I have never done one before and was curious as to the best method. Any tips?

The phase that pays when roasting most meats is "Low & Slow" also for good beef (and Prime Rib is the best cut from the carcass) you want to have some age on it. If the MIL hasn't purchased it yet have her contact the butcher or meat deptment to have them set aside the roast so it will have a 3 or 4 weeks age from packing date when your cooking it. Roast it in the oven uncovered (dry heat) at about 300F / 150C and if you have a meat thermometor, you want to cook to about 140F / 60C internal for medium, less for rare etc. Length of time will depend on size of roast and whether it is bone on or a Bnls Lip on Ribeye.

The phase that pays when roasting most meats is "Low & Slow" also for good beef (and Prime Rib is the best cut from the carcass) you want to have some age on it. If the MIL hasn't purchased it yet have her contact the butcher or meat deptment to have them set aside the roast so it will have a 3 or 4 weeks age from packing date when your cooking it. Roast it in the oven uncovered (dry heat) at about 300F / 150C and if you have a meat thermometor, you want to cook to about 140F / 60C internal for medium, less for rare etc. Length of time will depend on size of roast and whether it is bone on or a Bnls Lip on Ribeye.

I agree with most of the details here except that 140 is way too high of an internal temperature for a quality piece of meat. Pull it at around 125 for rare and letting carryover cooking take it the rest of the way.