Punch or Clip?

Greetings all-

A friend and I were about to fired up a couple of Padron 1964's last nite when I realized that I did not having my trusty cutter on hand.

So we were forced to use a cheapo plastic guillotine, which was a disaster to cut a box press cigar. It had me thinking about which is the prefered method of prepping a cigar. Double blade cutter? punch?

V-cutter? scissors?

What say you? :-D

A nice sharp "Craftsman" pocket knife I have been carrying for 30+ years... sometimes I simulate a punch, other times I just serate the top cap. Pyramides I still use a sharp dual blade cutter.

well Padrons are a bit unique. You can effectively bite off the end very easily. In fact Jose Padron who smokes up to 9 a day never uses a cutter.

For all other smokes I like my Palio. The key is a sharp blade so you can cut just the top of the cap to leave a rounded edge. A dull guillitine will pinch the cap and sometimes cause the wrapper to split. The palio has yet to fail on a cut for me, it is my go to cutter.

» Greetings all-

»

» A friend and I were about to fired up a couple of Padron 1964's last nite

» when I realized that I did not having my trusty cutter on hand.

» So we were forced to use a cheapo plastic guillotine, which was a disaster

» to cut a box press cigar. It had me thinking about which is the prefered

» method of prepping a cigar. Double blade cutter? punch?

» V-cutter? scissors?

»

» What say you? :-D

Double blade cutter. A nice little slim number that I keep in my wallet at all times (in case I need an emergency cigar!)

I've never liked the idea of a punch and while I've never used a V-cutter I can see how'd they be good on small ring gague cigars, but not the big ones.

» » What say you? :-D

»

» So as not to repeat myself, here's a link to one of a number of threads on

» the topic:

»

» [link=http://www.friendsofhabanos.com/board_entry.php?id=71002&page=0&order=time&category=all.tld/]Link[/link]