Hoyo de Rio Seco MGL SEP 21 (S&FBRW)

Great review. I agree it is a bit of a monster in size. I had one recently in London where it really got going from 2nd third onwards ending up being absolutley nubbed. A lovely smoke causing me to pick up a ten box from Rob...

• Like 2

4 hours ago, graham_uk said:

Great review. I agree it is a bit of a monster in size. I had one recently in London where it really got going from 2nd third onwards ending up being absolutley nubbed. A lovely smoke causing me to pick up a ten box from Rob...

Yep. This one got nubbed. I do get these in 10ers from Rob, including this one. But I do feel like I the monster rg detracts from it. 

• Like 1

What's your go to Hoyo?  I've been smoking Cubans off and on for many years and increasingly I am drawn towards Hoyo.  In the last few years I have had quite a few 20 year old Churchills (pre-pandemic - my local cigar store had tons of these, available to smoke in singles) which were sublime (wish I had bought some!) and recently I had a recent production DC which was fascinating but by final third was at the upper end of full bodied (can you believe!) yet first third was light to medium at strongest!).  I do like the Petit Robustos but find that they have an interesting spell and can go through dull patches.  I have never really got the Epi2 or Epi1 and the San Juan has not been consistent for me.  Anyway enough rambling on!

13 hours ago, jakebarnes said:

Also, it's now hailing outside. 

Edge of my seat — Chicago?? Great review of an HdM that I have not tried but that I also have a box of 10 waiting in the queue. The “du Depute’”, Petite Robusto, and Epi 1 and 2 have been my favorite flavor profiles during the last year or two. They each have their own unique flavor profiles and their is a common richness of flavors that I cannot put in words.

13 hours ago, jakebarnes said:

I just wish this flavor profile lived in a smaller vitola...like a corona gorda or even a robustos.