2 Different Humidity Readings

Lambretta

Hi everyone, I am a total novice to the cigar world so will try to explain exactly what is the matter, and hopefully you can help me.

I bought a Mint condition SUPREME Wooden Humidor over 10 years of use so very well-seasoned???

I was told it would easily store 50-75 Montecristo No 4. Length: 5″ (129mm) Ring Gauge: 42

The humidor is 35cm(L) x 16cm(H) x 24cm(D)

Before I put my baby’s in, I bought 5 Boveda Humidifier - 60g Pack - 69% RH to bring it up to spec.

I also bought 3 Digital Hygrometers and the Boveda One-Step Hygrometer Calibration Kit which they all passed.

Now the problem I have is the Hygrometer on the Humidor is showing 70 % RH but the 3 digital Hygrometer’s in side are showing between 62 & 65 % RH, it has all 5, 60g packs in, and have been in for over 4 weeks.

Do I put another 60g pack in which would be 6 packs for a 100 cigar humidor???

The temp is 18 / 21 degrees.

Thanks

Nick.    

Good to see you introduced yourself .

It appears it is a small humidor and typically Boveda says one per 25 cigars but having more isn’t an issue. Is the one that you said was on the humidifier reading 70 an analog gauge? If so ignore it. If it is a small humidor you don’t really need more than one hygrometer inside. Reading between 62-65, I think are just fine. Keep in mind when you open it, the humidity reading will fairly quickly.

Main thing is going to be how the cigars feel and how they smoke.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 1

This is all within acceptable boundaries, so I wouldn't worry too much (unless you are particular about your RH). 

Would need pictures / more info but it sounds like the hygrometer showing higher is an integrated analogue hair hygrometer? If so these are not the most accurate (even if properly calibrated) so I'd defer to the digital ones.