Can an EL band smear this way over the years? Partagas Piramides 2000 Edicion Limitada

deejank

All, I hope I can have your attention though this is my first post. I am new to CCs and have been trying to collect this past month.

Can the veterans of the EL program take a look at the following pictures?

The question I have are for the Partagas Piramides 2000 EL. Is this the way the secondary band naturally ages with normal wear and tear?

http://imgur.com/a/P3iJP

I also feel that the EL band is slightly raised and that makes me believe it is possible of its counterfeit. The seller is an avid collector himself and highly respected in the community that I joined and his source is even more regarded and respected. However this case reminds me of the other stories on this forum about the Swiss retailer that failed to catch the fake and that this cigar in particular has many high quality fakes (with some tasting even more amazing than the original).

I felt compelled to hope that a very seasoned user here can tell me via the smudging of the band and/or the embossed letters, that it is certainly genuine or fake. To me personally the letters seem embossed, I can close my eyes and feel slight raised grooves etc. I know that the 2000 band was flat completely. Hoping the ink smudge can determine its legitimacy as well.

Thank you for having a read and looking forward to this community!

Welcome to FoH.

Introduce yourself over here http://www.friendsofhabanos.com/forum/index.php?showforum=6

I have no idea about whether the EL program was around then or what not. Have a look at the CUban Cigar Website (google it). A great wealth of information on what ciagrs were released when and what bands they have on them.

As for that band though, i've seen much, much worse. http://www.friendsofhabanos.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=114764&hl