Raise the RH level

bob25

Get some floral foam, the green spongy foam used at florists, cut it up into 2 halves or more depending on the size of the container you've got, put it in a plastic container and add distilled water until the foam is saturated, close the container up and punch a few holes in the lid, put one in bottom, and a smaller one on the top since the RH is around normal there.

That should work out ok, I've been using this method for a few months now, a DYI humidifier!

Buy some Silica Crystal or Gel Kitty Litter, fill some empty cigar boxes, tape the edges. Season the silica in an empty box until the environment stabilizes at 60-70%, then put them in your coolidor. Save your money on the beads, they are the biggest sucker magnet in the industry. The profit margin on beads and silica for cigars must be 1000%

Having a low RH problem is better than a high one in a sealed humidor. Getting the moisture out is far harder (good advice given above). What is your ambient RH outside the box? If it is really dry you might add a little water by any of the systems mentioned above. If the cigar boxes were previously in a 65 RH environment and you don't have a lot of exposed singles I would sit tight on the 50 RH and see what happens. If the closed boxes are acclimatized, the cigars inside are a-okay!

Best of luck with your project. -Piggy

jordan001 ,thanks a lot. :clap:

I tried the foam method and it worked great.

The RH is 65%-67%,much improvement.:angry:

If I new I wouldn't order the beads ...

My ambient RH outside is 70%-75% usually but in the wine cooler it much lower.

jordan001 ,thanks a lot. :o

I tried the foam method and it worked great.

The RH is 65%-67%,much improvement.:clap:

If I new I wouldn't order the beads ...

My ambient RH outside is 70%-75% usually but in the wine cooler it much lower.