Another FNG

gfoster

Hi all, just wanted to introduce myself. I'm both new to FoH as well as new to cigars period. Just picked up the hobby/addiction/madness a month or two ago and am casting about trying to soak up knowledge like a sponge. I got referred to this site and it seemed like a *great* place to pick up knowledge.

A little about me... I'm 43, married, a computer programmer in the republic of San Francisco by trade but an absolute luddite by inclination (which confuses the hell out of my wife sometimes). I roast my own coffee, grow veggies and raise chickens in the backyard, shave with a straight razor, brew my own beer, smoke BBQ and cook quite a bit. I'm hoping to retire, leave californica and buy a small hobby farm before my job kills me but I'm not optimistic about that ever happening ;)

I'm a member of CA also, but I hope you all won't hold that against me (heh). I know almost nothing about cigars and have been buying lots of singles and pestering the owner of my local B&M (who is really a good sport about it) for recommendations. So far I've fallen in love with all the Fuente cigars I've tried, especially the hemingways and the 8-5-8 maduros. I've also had some RPs and I have a few montecristo #4's that I picked up in Canada and later found out I'd been raped on the prices. Great cigars, but at the prices the Canucks charged me I'd be better off smoking my paychecks. I've discovered that although I am a newbie, I tend to not care for overly mild cigars like the macanudos and such and lean more towards a bit fuller body.