Vintage Dunhill humidor humidifier

okanogeturk

Hi everybody, I am relatively new to the humidor business, and I actually posted the same question yesterday, but can't find my topic (also new to the forum). So I apologise for any caccophony.

I just putmrchased a vintage Dunhill humidor which has a rectangle, brass framed humidifier with a grill of round holes on both sides. It looks there's a white layer of something under the grill (inside) but I can't guess what's the material.

my question, after tiring you with reading so far, how do I charge that humidifier so that I can start using the humidor?

Thanks in advance!

okan

D4420A1F-9974-4D66-AD3F-08E0B153B920.jpeg

The white material is clay. It works quite well for slow release of moisture although not as "regulated" as modern beads, perhaps.

I have an old Dunhill branded humidor (USA Decatur made, I think) that I use for my NC dog walking cigars. After proper seasoning for a week or so with a glass of water inside, that box has proven quite reliable over time. Holds around 65%. I spray the clay with distilled water every few weeks or whenever humidity drops.

I attribute the success of that vintage humidor to its good seal rather than the antique clay moisturizer, but if you have a good specimen like I do, the overall system works reasonably well. A jar of beads would probably require less maintenance but I keep a spray bottle of distilled water handy and it is no big deal.

16 hours ago, J-ROB said:

The white material is clay. It works quite well for slow release of moisture although not as "regulated" as modern beads, perhaps.

I have an old Dunhill branded humidor (USA Decatur made, I think) that I use for my NC dog walking cigars. After proper seasoning for a week or so with a glass of water inside, that box has proven quite reliable over time. Holds around 65%. I spray the clay with distilled water every few weeks or whenever humidity drops.