interview with salome aleman - cuban rum blender

this is from the excellent rum lab site (well, i think they are excellent as occasionally the post stuff i have done - not that one ever gets paid...)

Rum Connoisseur
Interview of The Week

87f280e0-3349-4a7e-b3d7-46204bad46c4.jpg

SALOMÉ ALEMÁN

Master Blender at Ron Santa Cruz

1. Who is Salomé Alemán?

I was born in Havana, Cuba. I am a Chemical Engineer in Food, graduated from the University of Technical Sciences (CUJAE) in 1988. When I finished my studies, I started working in Ronera Santa Cruz, the largest rum factory in the country, located in Santa Cruz del Norte, 50 km from the capital. It belongs to the Cuba Ron S.A. Corporation.

During the work training process, I was working in different positions in the different areas of the factory as part of my initial preparation: alcohol and liquor distillery, rum and liquor manufacturing area, aging places and others. I took different courses such as training of auditors, management techniques, diploma in foreign trade and others.

In 2010, I was invited to join the Movement of Masters of Cuban Rum in the category of Aspiring Masters. After several years of preparation, I was recognized as Master of Rum in 2016, becoming the first woman to with this title in Cuba.

2. Biggest achievement you personally feel you have accomplished for the rum industry.