Partagas Short SINGLE: Ode to the 40 and 42 gauge review week

Guest Nekhyludov

Guest Nekhyludov

Dimensions: 42 x 4 3/8"

Box Code: Unknown

Date Purchased: April 17, 2017

Date Smoked: April 20, 2017

The Party Short was my first go-to cigar when I started smoking CCs in the late 90s. For several years, they were reliably satisfying and, more importantly, affordable (I was a student at the time, and this last point was critical). Within a few years, however, this cigar became the canary in the coal mine for me, in terms of quality. I started getting boxes with 5 or more unsmokable sticks (mostly plugs), wild variation in flavors, bad wrappers. So I started obsessively chasing factory codes on the internet, burned out on that, then resigned myself to NCs. I didn't come back to CCs until 2015 after news of (mostly) reliable quality was so widespread that I actually believed it. So this is the first Party Short I've had in nearly 15 years. I went into it with high hopes of reacquainting myself with an old friend ...

Appearance and Aroma: This is a tidy cigar, well made - firm and consistent - with a medium colorado wrapper. But otherwise unremarkable is appearance. The pre-light aroma is typical barnyard, but mild.

591da16261af5_PartyShort2.thumb.jpg.45c0e0c585cd3f3fb0e4766520d92a31.jpg

First Third: It tales flame readily, but produces a thin smoke from a slightly too-firm draw, and a flaky gray ash. The burn remains uneven and requires relighting. From there, the frequent draws needed to maintain the light leads to a hot, harsh burn. At this stage, the flavor is just charred tobacco; managing performance is the main chore here.

591da1667819d_PartyShort.thumb.jpg.d7a7548cf4f37838bcfc7d825e389ccf.jpg

Second Third: There is a leafy, sweet floral flavor that just peeks through occasionally. But generally, not a great improvement in performance or profile. The aroma, however, is pleasantly peppery.