The measure of a hobby

I have enjoyed many a hobby during my life but really only three were enduring and stood the test of time.....motorcycles, golf and cigars.

To me, the measure of a hobby is its ability to (1) keep your attention (2) allow you to continually learn/grow/improve in the endeavor and (3) allow you to "disconnect" from the stresses of daily life.

I've been riding motorcycles for many years. Been playing golf for 20. Been smoking cigars for 15 or so and CC's for 7.

Each of the criteria above is met by each of my hobbies. Golf is a good example. Although I haven't played since I moved to Mexico (had broken leg for first 2 months and work too much for the most part), once I throw the clubs over my shoulder or on the cart, I don't think about work, women or anything except golf. Although my handicap moves up and down, I am constantly learning and trying to improve. Obviously it's kept my attention for all these years.

Motorcycling is even better because for instance I don't like playing golf alone. My preference is also to enjoy cigars amongst friends. But I can hop on a bike and just start riding and before I'm out of the neighborhood I'm in a different world.

All three hobbies also share one important similarity.....money! I can't tell you how many drivers, sets of clubs and general crap I've purchased over the years. Bikes are the same way. I once owned a perfectly stock HD.....it ain't stock no more. While I have always been much more of a consumer (buy a few boxes and smoke them and then buy more), cigars is obviously an investment centric hobby.

Anyway, I will stop rambling but I was struck today thinking about my hobbies and how they enrich my life and make me poorer all at the same time.

Cheers.

---

I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=20.631736,-87.070611

Money and manage in the same sentence? What's that? Oh, manage to spend your money on what gives you the most enjoyment because as the czar says, life isn't a dress rehearsal.