Helping a Newbie with Humidor

Scarhead

A colleague of mine who is rather green to cigars wants to get a cabinet style humidor. He asked about a humidifier and I told him that he doesn't have to get caught up in the particulars. A standard humidifier one would use to humidify a room would work. The goal in the end is to create and maintain relative humidity in the humidor. I am not an expert by any means, but I feel comfortable in my theory here. In other words, a regular humidifier with a humidistat that would turn it on and off would work just as well as one designed specifically for a humidor. Am I correct?

Absolutley not.

Humidifiers for home usage like the ones used for medical reasons cannot REGULATE humidity, all they do is continually pump moist air into the surrounding atmosphere. Your friend would be better going with humidity beads, like the clay or silica type because these will actually absorb moisture as well as dissipate it. If not go for a much more appropriate active system that is aimed at cigar storage.

Hope he gets sorted.

A colleague of mine who is rather green to cigars wants to get a cabinet style humidor. He asked about a humidifier and I told him that he doesn't have to get caught up in the particulars. A standard humidifier one would use to humidify a room would work. The goal in the end is to create and maintain relative humidity in the humidor. I am not an expert by any means, but I feel comfortable in my theory here. In other words, a regular humidifier with a humidistat that would turn it on and off would work just as well as one designed specifically for a humidor. Am I correct?

Technically speaking, a humidifier is a humidifier. Whether it's to humidify a room or cigars, the principle remains the same: release

humidity in the air.

However ...