Automatic Watch Winding

I know our hosts also are watch gurus and I'm sure some of our members here are as well. I have a single automatic watch that I barely wear. My question is, how often should I be winding it to keep it in good working condition? I've seen answers on the web between it doesn't have to be done to daily. :cigar: Appreciate the insight!

I'm no expert (there are a few of those on here) but I am of the thought that you should keep it wound and running as much as possible. Typically, the worst thing for any mechanical device is to sit idle for too long. They typically have some amount of oil that keeps the moving parts moving smoothly and I would imagine that sitting idle for very long (a year or so) would not be good and could lead to the movement sticking or seizing. Warren and Rob are both very knowledgable here and I'm sure they'll be along shortly to offer their expertise.

I have an Omega Seamaster but I wear mine constantly so I rarely have to wind it unless i take it off for any period of time. If I were to decide to stop wearing it daily, i would probably wind it and wear for a day or so every couple of weeks just as a caution.

Point taken regarding mechanical devices sitting idle for long periods, that makes clear sense. I should just start wearing it more often, but it doesn't quit fit with my day to day activities.

You know they have watch winders that are battery operated, or can plug into a wall. They basically rotate your watch and keep it wound. I believe they are fairly inexpensive for a single unit, if you don't get too fancy in terms of the case it is housed in. That is the route I would go.