Romeo y Julieta Short Churchill (a Foot-in-Mouth™ Review)

Great review, great pics! Respect for your detailed flavour description, I really recognized my experience with great RyJ SCs in your review. What I like about this vitola are its sudden changes, it can hit you with cherry around the second third only to show its leathery side the next puff and go back to currant bread after that. Just that hemp flavour that I too surely remember from the old days, never found it in a Habanos cigar....

• 8 months later...

This robusto came from the Robusto Sampler I purchased from the Czar, and I've had it for a month or so. As a newbie, I figured the sampler would be the right way to figure out what I like and don't like, so my plan is to work through these over the next few weeks, and then let the humidor-building strategy begin in earnest.

Headline on this cigar is that I LOVED it . . . though I did learn a lesson about pacing myself. Details to follow.

The RyJ short Churchill is a great looking cigar . . . slightly darkish wrapper, some slight vein here and there. Feels good in the hand--I like this ring gauge, and I even like the dual band approach RyJ uses on this stick. Makes it seem like you're about so fire up something worthwhile.

image5531.jpg

image5532.jpg

Aroma at cold was dried fruit (I initially thought prune, but later changed that to dried cherries). I punched the end using my new favorite toy, the Swiss Army cigar punch.

image5533.jpg

Pre-light draw was very slightly loose, and tasted of either raisin bran or trail mix. Toasted the foot, fired it up . . .

First third

image5534.jpg

• I’m having a bit of a hard time getting the burn going evenly, and am getting a lot of smoke from the wrapper as various bits of it try to catch up.

• Medium-bodied, nice mouth feel. I feel like I’m smoking something meaningful and interesting.

• Getting tons and tons of interesting flavor notes:

o Raisin bran

o Coffee

o Melba toast