Tube cedar and your humidor

armenikum

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie here and to cigars, and tried looking for this topic in the humidor section before posting this.

Is it good/bad/pointless to take the cedar that comes with some tubed cigars, break it into pieces and distribute it throughout your humidor. Will it change taste, affect ageing in any way?

Cheers.

It's not bad, but it won't mean an overly huge difference. The cedar that's in the tubes is a very thin veneer - it is definitely there to protect and maybe help the flavour a bit of your cigars in tubes. But, it's only really for one cigar.

Granted, a bit of cedar is better than none. Hopefully, your humidor is cedar as it is. If so, that should be good enough. If you want to add any more, I'd maybe just put some of the thicker cedar sheets (the sheets that act as a layer divider in cigar boxes), between the layers of cigars that you have sitting in your humidor. And/or this is also a good idea for those that have humidors that are made from coolers or other plastic materials.

The cedar doesn't affect aging in any way. It just naturally repells pests (tobacco beetles), works with the RH beneficially, and imparts an additional nice flavour layer to your cigars.

It's not bad, but it won't mean an overly huge difference. The cedar that's in the tubes is a very thin veneer - it is definitely there to protect and maybe help the flavour a bit of your cigars in tubes. But, it's only really for one cigar.

Granted, a bit of cedar is better than none. Hopefully, your humidor is cedar as it is. If so, that should be good enough. If you want to add any more, I'd maybe just put some of the thicker cedar sheets (the sheets that act as a layer divider in cigar boxes), between the layers of cigars that you have sitting in your humidor. And/or this is also a good idea for those that have humidors that are made from coolers or other plastic materials.