Laying the cigars down that you'll want in 5-10 years

I work as a wine merchant and have for 12+ years...before any of the moderators jump on this I am not after or promoting anything...but I often find with customers that they get into wine and buy like mad but end up later on (5-15years or so) with a cellar full of wines they are no longer so mad about...they can sell some and re-buy but it becomes a fiddle...so cutting to the chase I am keen not to do the same thing with cigars...I have smoked them on and off for 10years (increasingly of late) and am now looking to lay down some boxes. I love to have a variety of vitolas but probably see the Epicure No1 as the ideal size.

Any suggestions on what I should look to buy? and it is a negative question (sadly) but what should I avoid laying donw?

My favourite marques are

Hoyo de Monterry

Partagas

Trinidad

Sancho Panza

also like - Upman, Ramon Allones and Cohiba

Any suggestions much appreciated...

Cheers

Hi Pilgrim,

I am in a little bit of a hurry today but as far as Sancho Panza is concerned and since this vitola is going to be discontinued as of next year you can put a bit of money on the Molinos (a Lonsdale size). They are very good after 2-3 years and go on to be excellent for several years after that.

As far as HDM is concerned a safe bet is the Hoyo des Dieux (a Gran Corona size) in cabinet of 50, they normally age magnificently.

Finally, I am sure that other members will other terrific suggestions to make to you.

All the best,

Michel

HdM Regalos. My goal is not to touch them for another 5-7 years.

I've had a couple from my box and these are turing into something amazing, but yes they still have at least another 3 years I'd image to smooth out. Hopefully I can wait :innocent:

Sorry -- I'd respond with something smart and useful to say, but strayvector's avatar is making it impossible to think...

-

-

-

-

-

-